Wednesday, 22 January 2014

Salter–Harris fracture

Salter–Harris fracture is a
fracture that involves the epiphyseal plate or
growth plate of a bone. It is a common injury
found in children, occurring in 15% of
childhood long bone fractures.There are nine
types of Salter–Harris fractures; types I to V as
described by Robert B Salter and W Robert
Harris in 1963, and the rarer types VI to IX
which have been added subsequently:
Type I – A transverse fracture through the
growth plate (also referred to as the "physis"):
6% incidence
Type II – A fracture through the growth plate
and the metaphysis, sparing the epiphysis: 75%
incidence, takes approximately 2–3 weeks to
Type III – A fracture through growth plate and
epiphysis, sparing the metaphysis: 8% incidence
Type IV – A fracture through all three elements
of the bone, the growth plate, metaphysis, and
epiphysis: 10% incidence
Type V – A compression fracture of the growth
plate (resulting in a decrease in the perceived
space between the epiphysis and diaphysis on x-
ray): 1% incidence
Type VI – Injury to the peripheral portion of the
physis and a resultant bony bridge formation
which may produce an angular deformity (added
in 1969 by Mercer Rang)
Type VII – Isolated injury of the epiphyseal plate
(VII–IX added in 1982 by JA Ogden)
Type VIII – Isolated injury of the metaphysis
with possible impairment of endochondral
Type IX – Injury of the periosteum which may
impair intramembranous ossification.

No comments:

Post a comment